Cardiac Arrest Inks Deal With Razorback Recordings

A foreboding covenant dripping with darkness and dread has been sealed that will bring together splatter metal label Razorback Recordings and the punishingly perverse Illinois act Cardiac Arrest.

2014 will now see to the unleashing of the band’s fifth and most foul album to date, “And Death Shall Set You Free.” Razorback Records comments:

“Formed deep in the black infamy-choked bowels of Chicago in the late ‘90s, Cardiac Arrest has been a known associate of Razorback’s for years and, while the two camps had bonded over their shared obsessions with all things horror and metal, they never worked together – until now!

“Releasing their four previous albums elsewhere, the fearsome foursome of Midwest metal maniacs continue their legacy of death metal brutality with ‘And Death Shall Set You Free’ and the ten cruel scythe cuts of horror-weltered cacoffiny offered therein, with such aural atrocities as ‘There Is No Escape,’ ‘Bridge Burner,’ and ‘Rise! Part Man, Part Beast.’

“While the new album will be the catchiest yet, it will still be as unforgivingly heavy as a sledgehammer to the skull. And it is coming for YOU in the late Summer or early Fall of 2014 … You have been warned! ‘Til then, as those abominable gore-adorers who are Cardiac Arrest always proclaim … ROT FOREVER!”

Post to Twitter

TOAD Streaming “Boundaries Of Flesh” Track

With the unleashing of their “Endless Night” LP just days away (June 25th), the blackened death sorcerers in TOAD offer up a stream of fourth track “Boundaries of Flesh” via Cvlt Nation. Check out the song right here.

Comments the band of the deviant tune: “This was the last song written for Endless Night. It was surreal to know we had neared the end of our vision, so this tune is definitely special for us. Those of you with a keen ear and familiarity with the scores of John Carpenter may pick up on some parallels. As with every song on the album, this song is an unpredictable journey. Enjoy.”

Adds Cvlt Nation: “‘Boundaries of Flesh’ snaps with tight rhythms and a head-nodding beat that’s difficult to forget after your first listen. Heady sections of stripped back and echoing vocal lines gives the whole track a different and intriguing mood that calls to mind extreme doom-sensibilities and lends a deeply effective ‘70s B-Movie soundtrack quality to the song before the title track lurches into being with slow, weighty and dastardly destructive proportions. The song swirls with extended motions of climbing guitar wails and gruff vocal bellows that grind with a distinct resonance and the hurtling speed of the closing seconds is enough to raise the dead themselves. Excellent fun indeed.”

“Endless Night” was captured by returning producer/engineer Bob Hoag at Flying Blanket Recording in Mesa, Arizona, who worked with the band previously on the mammoth “Rotten Tide” EP, and offers up a strikingly grim cover by Sean R. Williams (Animetalphysical). The album’s track listing is:

1. Taste of the Grave
2. Cosmophobia
3. Howling House
4. Boundaries of Flesh
5. Endless Night

Post to Twitter

Sonic Reign Posts “Soul Flagellation”

Marking the unleashing of the new album “Monument in Black” from German black metal stalwarts Sonic Reign, Apostasy Records is once again streaming a new track from the release. You can access the new song “Soul Flagellation” by going here or listening to it below. Sonic Reign’s newest offering follows up 2006’s “Raw Dark Pure,” which was reissued in 2007 by Metal Blade.

Post to Twitter