Orthodox Streams New Track “I’m Scared Of You”

A scathing new track has come online from Nashville’s own Orthodox: check out the hyperkinetic “I’m Scared Of You” below. The track is the first dose to be administered from forthcoming album, “Sounds Of Loss,” to be released via Unbeaten Records (Left Behind, Stigmata, Purgatory) on 5/26/17.

Centered on the songwriting team of Adam Easterling (vocals, drums) and Tyler Williams (guitar, bass) Orthodox is quite an anomaly. Though identifying as a straight edge band, the group is unabashedly metal in sound and influences range from death metal down to more mainstream hard ‘n heavy sounds.

Speaking on those influences, Easterling said: “When Orthodox was formed I was still in high school. Our early material was really influenced by groups like the hardcore band, Foundation. However as time wore on, we realized we were much bigger metal heads than the hardcore/punk associated with straight edge. We just focused on writing the music we wanted to hear.”

New release “Sounds Of Loss” is a concept album, with Easterling explaining: “The entire album is centered on the theme of anticipated grief. It’s preparing for the loss of loved ones, people around you due to various reasons including addiction and illness. I tried to write about the strain that grief and loss have mentally, physically and even on your faith. Musically Tyler and I strove to have the music reflect what the topic is. For example ‘I’m Scared Of You’ was written to express what fear would actually sound like within the musical context of our band.”

Post to Twitter

Sludgehammer Posts “Carrion Eater” Music Video

Set to unleash debut full-length album “The Fallen Sun” officially on June 10th, Toronto, ON’s Sludgehammer today posted a new music video for the track “Carrion Eater.” Guitarist Jeff Wilson comments:

“Sludgehammer is proud to present ‘Carrion Eater’ as our first music video from ‘The Fallen Sun.’ This is one of the first songs we wrote for the record and it has become one of our favorites. It was an ambitious track to create as we were trying to combine a lot of different musical elements into a cohesive song. We eventually got it to the point where it is now, an energetic, venom spittin’, leg stompin’, headcrusher! It was a lot of hard work creating this record, but also a lot of fun. We’re hoping everyone can enjoy it like we do.”

The album was self-produced by the band and mixed by guitarist Tyler Williams and mastered by world renowned producer / engineer Lasse Lammert (Gloryhammer, Alestorm, Teramaze) at LSD Studio in Germany. The track listing is as follows:

1. Demons From The Woodwork (4:02)
2. Intestines Entwined (5:02)
3. The Black Abyss (6:29)
4. Ectogenesis (4:34)
5. Carrion Eater (5:56)
6. Consuming Afterbirth (4:34)
7. Carnivorous Forest (5:08)
8. Utopian (5:45)
9. Revolting (4:46)
10. Organ Harvester (4:51)
11. Casualties (4:34)

Post to Twitter