Louder Than Life At Champions Park In Louisville, KY 9/30 & 10/1

Band Performance Times Announced For Louder Than Life At Champions Park In Louisville, KYSaturday, September 30 & Sunday, October 1 Featuring Ozzy Osbourne, Prophets Of Rage, Five Finger Death Punch, Incubus, Rob Zombie & More Onsite Attractions Including Bourbon World Presented By The Louisville Courier-Journal, Heavy Tiki, Rock ?N Roll ?N BBQ, The Big Easy Boil, Love & Fire […]

more metal news here:
Louder Than Life At Champions Park In Louisville, KY 9/30 & 10/1

Post to Twitter

SiriusXM Liquid Metal announces For The Sake Of Heaviness – Metal Blade Records 35th Anniversary Week

– August 25th, 2017 –

Starting Friday, August 25th @ Midnight ET / 9pm PT (ending Friday, September 1st @ Midnight ET / 9pm PT), SiriusXM Liquid Metal will host For The Sake Of Heaviness- Metal Blade Records 35th Anniversary Week, featuring Metal Blade Records founder and CEO Brian Slagel every hour introducing his favorite cuts from the 35 year history of the label that brought the world Metallica, Slayer, Cannibal Corpse, GWAR and more.

In addition, SiriusXM host Jose Mangin sits down with Slagel to discuss the new book For The Sake Of Heaviness: The History Of Metal Blade Records, which comes out August 29th (and was co-written by Mark Eglinton).

Bloody Roots, Liquid Metal’s popular specialty show hosted by Bazillion Points publisher Ian Christe, and Corridor Of Covers, an hour long covers show, will both focus on Metal Blade Records, featuring only songs that have to do with the label Brian started in his garage 35 years ago.

See below for air times; for more information, please visit: facebook.com/siriusxmliquidmetal

Brian Slagel Interview
Friday 8/25 @ 5pm ET / 2pm PT
Friday 8/25 @ 8pm ET / 5pm PT
Saturday 8/26 @ 1pm ET / 10am PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 7pm ET / 4pm PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 9pm ET / 6pm PT
Thursday 8/31 @ 3pm ET / Noon PT

Bloody Roots of Metal Blade Records
Saturday 8/26 @ 6pm ET / 3pm PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 1pm ET / 10am PT
Monday 8/28 @ 9am ET / 6am PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 4pm ET / 1pm PT
Thursday 8/31 @ 9pm ET / 6pm PT

Cover Of Covers Metal Blade Edition
Friday 8/25 @ 2pm ET / 11am PT
Saturday 8/26 @ 10pm ET / 7pm PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 4pm ET / 1pm PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 10am ET / 7am PT

Metal Blade Records online:
http://www.metalblade.com
https://www.facebook.com/metalbladerecords
https://twitter.com/MetalBlade
https://www.youtube.com/MetalBladeRecords
https://instagram.com/metalbladerecords

Tweet

Post to Twitter

Bloodstock Announces Final 2017 Band Additions

With three weeks to go til the metal hoards descend on Catton Park for a weekend of heavy merriment, the Bloodstock organizers are pleased to reveal the final bands for this year’s edition, issuing the following statement:

“Joining the Ronnie James Dio main stage on Sunday will be hotly tipped five-piece Venom Prison. The Welsh death metallers romped home with the Best New Band gong at the Metal Hammer Golden Gods Awards last month.

“Regrettably, we’ve two switches as Mantar had to withdraw from their slot on the Sophie Lancaster stage on Saturday, but the very capable Red Rum will fill their boots. Hailing from the Saxon county of Notts, don’t miss this folk-metal collection of cut-throat pirates, epic Vikings, and bloodthirsty warriors!

“Also due to circumstances beyond our control, Scarab will no longer be able to appear, so UK thrash heroes Xentrix will make a welcome return debuting their new singer (who they met at Bloodstock last year) and step into their Saturday evening Sophie Stage spot.

“Bloodstock can also now announce the final batch of bands from this year’s Metal 2 The Masses competition. Performing on the Hobgoblin New Blood stage Friday will be Hitchin victors Raze The Void with their brand of prog meets melo-death, Oxford metal champions K-Lacura, and tech riffers Embodiment who won in Bristol. Saturday welcomes Yorkshire metalheads Hoofknuckle, who took first prize in Selby, and Lincs tog dogs Hundred Year Old Man.

“Rounding things out on Sunday are Northants hard rockers Switchblade City, London tech progsters Sentience Birmingham alternative prog victors Netherhall, and electro rockers Seething Akira, who grabbed the top spot in Bournemouth. Also joining the fun on Sunday are Hobgoblin upload winners, Battalions, bringing the sludge and grind from their hometown of Hull.

“Bloodstock has also managed to squeeze one more band on to the Jagermeister stage on Sunday. If you like old school thrash, be sure to head over to catch Kettering headbangers Unitra.”

Post to Twitter

Exclusive Interview With Corey Taylor of Stone Sour

Driven: An Exclusive Interview With Corey Taylor of Stone Sour Catch Stone Sour at Chicago Open Air This Sunday, July 16 and This Fall at Louder Than Life, Monster Energy Houston Open Air,  and Monster Energy Aftershock In advance of this weekend?s Chicago Open Air festival, producers Danny Wimmer Presents have released an exclusive Driven video interview with Corey Taylor of Stone Sour, talking […]

more metal news here:
Exclusive Interview With Corey Taylor of Stone Sour

Post to Twitter

Shredmonton Fest Offering Free Digital 2017 Sampler

Edmonton, AB’s loudest indoor metal festival and conference Shredmonton – presented by Prairie Fire Events Ltd – is offering metal fans a free digital sampler of headbanging tunes from bands on this year’s line up. Listen in below or grab your own digital copy at Bandcamp here.

Featuring some of the heaviest acts from across Canada to rumble the Alberta prairies, this year’s Shredmonton will be headlined by Vancouver power titans Unleash The Archers, Winnipeg’s doom funeral Psychotic Gardening, and Edmonton gore masters Bleed from Friday, May 12th to Sunday, May 14th 2017 at the Mercury Room.

This year’s festival also features an all ages event on the Sunday date, as well as the return of the all-ages industry conference aspect, which includes panels on publicity & promotion, festival booking plus vocal, guitar and recording / live sound clinics.

ShrEdmonton organizer Tyson Travnik comments: “We’re very proud to be able to focus this year’s festival on showcasing bands that we feel have supported past Canadian festivals plus helped their local scenes flourish. Focusing on keeping this year’s experience intimate, yet retaining top-shelf quality is something that I think will set 2017 apart from events we’ve done in the past.”

Shredmonton 2017 Shredder Sampler by Shredmonton

The free digital sampler’s track listing is as follows:

1. Assimilation – Sigil Of The False God 03:20
2. Bleed – Hate March Kill 03:55
3. Days I Die – The Rise 04:30
4. Disturb The Dead – We Are The Ones 02:29
5. Eye of Horus – The Nithing 04:15
6. Gatekeeper – Victims of Sacrifice 04:47
7. Krepitus – Apex Predator 03:28
8. Leave The Living – Word Of A Whore 03:43
9. Osyron – Gallery of Fools 04:59
10. Psychotic Gardening – Origin of The Infection 04:22
11. Scarlet Serenity – Victim 03:17
12. Sleeping In Traffic – Listen Up! 06:20
13. Voltang – Garbage People 03:42

Post to Twitter

Winterfylleth Playing Bloodstock Festival 2017

We’re now past the halfway point to Bloodstock this year with 20 weekends left before the UK’s biggest metal weekender. Today the festival’s organizers issued this update about the lineup:

“Anthemic black metal crew Winterfylleth joins the main stage fray. Fifth album ‘The Dark Hereafter’ was released last October by Candlelight Records/Spinefarm. Check out the epic tracks via Bandcamp.

“We’re also excited to reveal a handful of bands for the Sophie Lancaster stage. Dendera brings classic metal to Bloodstock for a Friday slot. The band has a third studio album set for release this year, so expect new material!

“Saturday sees doomsters Kroh join the Sophie bill. Kroh is the brainchild of Paul Kenney, founder member of both Mistress and Fukpig. Go watch the video for ‘Mother Serpent’ and get the latest on the band on Facebook.

“Also landing a Saturday slot is Abhorrent Decimation, wtih the ‘Miasmic Mutation’ album lauded by Metal Hammer as ‘one of 2015’s must-have death metal records.’ Bagging a Sunday slot is British experimental metal squad, Bossk. The band built a name via a series of EPs and touring with the likes of Cult Of Luna, Textures, and Baroness, and is now signed to Deathwish Inc. Debut studio album ‘Audio Noir’ was released last year. We also welcome doompop outfit Courtesans to the Sunday bill.”

Post to Twitter

Nasum Announces “Blasting Shit To Bits – The Final Show”

The now defunct-Nasum is gearing up to release a film based around the group’s last live performance in 2012. A teaser is available below, and Nasum comments:

“We have made a 90 minute long concert film of the final show along with interviews! It’s called ‘Blasting Shit to Bits – The Final Show’ and will have it’s world premiere screening at Copenhagen’s Music Film Festival, April 27th. The film is directed and edited by Michael Panduro, Siegfried Productions.”

For a whirlwind tour of Nasum’s storied history, check out our Sunday Old School column covering the band right here.

Post to Twitter

Enslaved Announces NYC Signing Session

Brooklyn, New York record store Rough Trade NYC will host an Enslaved LP signing session this Sunday, December 11th following the previous evening’s massive twenty-fifth anniversary concert at Gramercy Theatre.

This all-ages Rough Trade event will open at 1:00pm; entry is automatic with the LP purchase of Enslaved’s recently released “The Sleeping Gods – Thorn” reissue. This reissue of two Enslaved EPs arrives via By Norse Music, the Norwegian cultural group behind New York By Norse, a huge two-day event taking over Manhattan December 9th – 10th.

A full-length album comprised of rare material from 2010-2011, “The Sleeping Gods – Thorn” is a unique collection of experimental recordings connecting with the band’s early roots. The seven tracks originally appeared on extremely limited EPs between Enslaved’s “Axioma Ethica Odini” and “Riitiir” full-lengths and were recorded both in Solslottet Studio in Bergen, as well as the band members’ own studios and partly in the deep woods of Valevaag on the south-western coast of Norway.

Post to Twitter

Lacuna Coil Posts New Song, “Naughty Christmas” Online

Italian gothic metal veterans Lacuna Coil (who were recently featured in our Sunday Old School column,) has posted a new song online entitled, “Naughty Christmas.” You can check out a lyric video for the track below. The band have recently been on tour supporting their latest studio album, “Delirium,” which was released earlier this year through Century Media.

Post to Twitter

Sebastian Bach Adds Headlining Laconia Fest Performance

Legendary music acts are revving up for LaconiaFest – the east coast’s premier motorcycle music festival. Just a few weeks after the announcement of Steven Tyler’s upcoming headlining performance on June 15th, rock music icon Sebastian Bach has joined the party – headlining Sunday, June 12th.

Besides fronting Skid Row, Bach has appeared in shows like Gilmore Girls, Trailer Park Boys, and Californication.

“We’re so pleased to have Sebastian Bach joining us for the inaugural LaconiaFest,” states Tyler Glover, managing member and co-producer of LaconiaFest. “We’re dedicated to bringing our attendees the greatest musical experience, so we’re really looking forward to his amazing performance!”

Tickets for the Sunday, June 12 Sebastian Bach headliner date are on sale now, just $30 for the entire day of entertainment, via this location.

LaconiaFest will be held in conjunction with the 93rd annual Laconia Motorcycle Week in Laconia, New Hampshire and will appropriately include all day food and drink, motocross stunt shows, motorcycle model/product stagings and more. This high-octane, nine-day festival (June 11-19, 2016) will take place in the heart of Downtown Weirs Beach at the Weirs Beach Drive-In Theatre.

Sebastian Bach joins fellow LaconiaFest headliners Steven Tyler, Bret Michaels, Ted Nugent, Buckcherry, Sevendust and Fuel with additional performances from rock music’s top talent of today and yesterday including Warrant, Lita Ford, Trixter, LA Guns, P.O.D., Attika7, Dope, Saving Abel, Biters, Adelitas Way, Bullethead, and Milow the Girl. In total, the festival will feature over 100 internationally and regionally recognized artists. LaconiaFest will feature two stages and festival attendees will rock out to live music for 12 hours a day – noon to midnight.

Post to Twitter