Accept Announces New Album, Special Wacken Show

The heavy metal pioneers from Accept just finished an extensive European tour and have announced that they are immediately back in the game with a new studio album. This record, entitled “The Rise Of Chaos,” will be unleashed on August 4th, 2017.

The band’s 4th studio release through Nuclear Blast will continue the tradition of its three predecessors – “Blood Of The Nations,” “Stalingrad,” and “Blind Rage” – with grandeur and precision.

And if this wasn’t enough, Accept will celebrate the album’s live premiere exclusively on August 3rd, on the day before its release, as a part of a special show at Wacken Open Air, Germany. The set will consist of three parts, which represent the band’s creative power:

– Part 1 will bring fans a classic Accept set, packed with new and old hits.

– Part 2 will present another premiere: Wolf Hoffmann will be playing tracks from his solo album “Headbangers Symphony” released in 2016, with the Czech National Symphony Orchestra for the very first time. On this record, Wolf has covered famous opuses by composers such as Beethoven, Vivaldi, and Mozart, in a metal guise.

– Part 3 features all elements seen and heard together: Accept will make the holy Wacken ground shake by sharing the stage with the orchestra, supported by a complex multimedia show.

Wolf Hoffmann stated: “It’s always impressive to see how bands take this evening seriously and how much love the artists and the organising team put into their work to get a varied result. It’s a great tradition which underlines and documents the top-notch level of the international rock community like nothing else. We also want to present something that Accept has never done before, we hope we can give something really special to the fans.”

Thomas Jensen, organizer of Wacken Open Air, comments: “Accept have been and are still a very important part of Germany’s heavy metal scene. We’re really looking forward to having them with us once more. With this epic concept, the Thursday evening will be one to remember for sure.”

Post to Twitter

Dimmu Borgir Posts “Forces Of The Northern Night” Double DVD Trailer

On April 28th, Norwegian symphonic black metal group Dimmu Borgir will unleash double-DVD/BluRay “Forces Of The Northern Night” upon mankind. The release include two different live shows: a concert in Oslo showing Dimmu Borgir on stage with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra and a bombastic choir, as well as the entire performance at Wacken Open Air with almost 100 musicians in action.

These monumental live rituals mark the beginning of the band’s epic return planned for 2017, which seems like it will include a new album but hasn’t been confirmed yet.

Check out two teaser trailers for the DVD below. Both the show in Oslo and the show at Wacken contain the following live tracks:

01. Xibir (orchestra)
02. Born Treacherous
03. Gateways
04. Dimmu Borgir (orchestra)
05. Dimmu Borgir
06. Chess With The Abyss
07. Ritualist
08. A Jewel Traced Through Coal
09. Eradication Instincts Defined (orchestra)
10. Vredesbyrd
11. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse
12. The Serpentine Offering
13. Fear And Wonder (orchestra)
14. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
15. Puritania
16. Mourning Palace
17. Perfection Or Vanity (orchestra)

Post to Twitter

Kampfar Reviews A Momentous 2016

Kampfar just checked in with the following “year in review” message to fans about what went down in 2016:

“2016 has been a roller coaster with ups and downs for Us. But what we did together and what we achieved in 2016 have still reached the highest peak in our 22 years of existence. Starting the year with winning a Spellemann (Norwegian Grammy) in metal. Who could have thought that 22 years ago.

“In a year when we as a band has been put on the toughest tests personally we still managed to do 4 tours in one year together+ festivals. There is still some fire left burning inside of us. And we can tell you for sure that without all of you. This band would have most likely faded away this year. Cause the personal life and emotions behind the scene this year has been tough!

“This can be said without being too dramatic. It has been a battle. A battle we won because of the amazing support from all of you and because of the strong bloodline in our band itself. The brotherhood Dolk, Ask, Ole and Jon its just to strong to go to pieces. Its the 4 of us or no band. End of story!

“Going though the year with short words like this can not be done actually. But to think about one special moment this year it can not go without mention our late night show at Wacken. The band has never been this destroyed ever on the personal level. It was a band on the edge of the cliff.

“But just thinking about all of the strength you guys in that tent gave us when we entered that stage it just make Us speechless. Thank you so much. It pretty much sums up the massive support this year from all of you. Thank you again!

“We are looking forward to 2017 and a new year with all of you and we promise some more news will come pretty soon in 2017 for you. Have a great new year people! Without you we are nothing!
Respect. (Below are 2 photos I think sums up 2016. One photo is private taken by Ask without me knowing it. The band photo is from the Grammy Awards in Norway).”

Post to Twitter

Nightwish To Shoot Wacken 2013 Show For Live DVD/Blu-Ray

After latest studio work “Imaginaerum” (reviewed here) and the release of fantasy motion picture “Imaginaerum by Nightwish,” Finnish symphonic metallers Nightwish are approaching the end of a cycle now, as the last three live shows in support of the releases are closing in.

And what would be a better way to celebrate the grand finale than to capture the entire upcoming show at Wacken Open Air – the world’s biggest heavy metal festival – for a live DVD/Blu-ray?Mastermind and keyboardist Tuomas Holopainen states:

“The time has come soon to wrap up the magical & memorable one-and-a-half year ‘Imaginaerum World Tour’ 2012-2013! We still have three shows left, one of them being at the legendary Wacken Open Air Metal Festival on the 3rd of August.

“This show will be something extra special, since it will be released later this year on DvD/Blu-ray, together with a massive ‘Imaginaerum World Tour’ 2012-2013 documentary. Our darling flying Dutchwoman, Floor Jansen, has been nothing but incredible during her time in Nightwish on this tour, so this is a perfect opportunity to immortalize the current vibe of the band on film!”

Be sure to be right in front of the True Metal Stage at Wacken Open Air on coming Saturday, August 3rd, at 22:45 CEST when Nightwish will capture the bombastic live magic for eternity! The final “Imaginaerum World Tour” shows are as follows:

03.08. D Wacken – Wacken Open Air
10.08. B Kortrijk – Alcatraz Festival
11.08. D Hildesheim – M’era Luna Festival

Post to Twitter

Atrocity Posts "Clash Of The Titans" Video Clip

German gothic death metal band Atrocity posted a clip from the band’s forthcoming DVD “Die Gottlosen Jahre.” The clip features a live performance of the song “Clash of the Titans,” which originally appeared on the band’s 2004 release “Atlantis.” The performance was captured from the band’s 25th Anniversary show at Wacken 2010. “Die Gottlosen Jahre” is due out on March 30, 2012 through Napalm Records.

The DVD will include the entire Wacken performance, the band’s retrospective and a substantial collection of the band’s video clips, including some of their greatest hits (“Taste of Sin”, “Love Is Dead”, and “Cold Black Days”), which were completely remastered.

Check out “Clash of the Titans” here:

Post to Twitter