Sanctuary And Former Nevermore Vocalist Warrel Dane Dead At 48

Warrel Dane, the lead singer of Sanctuary and Nevermore, has passed away at the age of only 48 after suffering a heart attack during the night. He was on tour in Brazil, where guitarist told UOL;

“He died in the night. He had a heart attack. He was in the apartment where he stayed during the recording of the album when it happened. I gave him cardiac massage and we called the Mobile Emergency Care Service (SAMU), who came very fast, but when they arrived, he was already dead.”

The singer first came to prominence with Sanctuary, with whom he released two studio albums, before forming Nevermore, which achieved considerable commercial success. After Nevermore folded, he revived Sanctuary and the band released a third album, “The Year The Sun Died” in 2014, with a fourth record, “Inception” following only this year. He will be greatly missed.

Post to Twitter

Sanctuary Streaming “Die For My Sins” From Upcoming Release “Inception”

U.S. metal act Sanctuary is streaming “Die For My Sins”, taken from the upcoming release “Inception”, the official prequel to 1988’s classic debut “Refuge Denied”. Century Media Records has set February 24, 2017 as the release date for it.

“Inception” contains presumed lost 1986 studio recordings, which guitarist Lenny Rutledge discovered recently and were magically restored, remixed and remastered by Zeuss (Queensrÿche, Hatebreed).

Check out now “Die For My Sins” below.

Post to Twitter

Trailer For Lost Demo Recordings “Inception” Released By Sanctuary

Washington State metal act Sanctuary issued a trailer for the upcoming release of the lost 1986 demo “Inception.” The release is expected from Century Media Records on February 24, 2017.

Vocalist Warrel Dane recently announced that the unreleased demo recordings prior to the 1987 debut “Refuge Denied” have been unearthed and will see the light of day. The album was restored, remixed and remastered by Chris “Zeuss” Harris (Rob Zombie/Queensryche).

More information on the release is expected soon. Check out the trailer clip here:

Post to Twitter

Dwell Releases “A Lie In Futility” Music Video

Dwell just released a music video for “A Lie in Futility,” taken from debut full-length album “Innate, which came out last month via Blood & Ink Records. You can also catch the band live on these dates:

11/10 – Columbus, OH – Double Happiness
11/11 – Grand Rapids, MI – Take Hold Fest
11/12 – Grand Rapids, MI – Take Hold Fest
11/13 – Detroit, MI – The Sanctuary
11/14 – Milwaukee, WI – JJ’s w/ Malice At The Palace
11/15 – Lansing, IL – Royal Skateshop
11/18 – Ringold, GA – Cloud Springs Deli
11/19 – Myrtle Beach, SC- Rockin Hard Saloon

Post to Twitter

Hortus Animae Releases “There’s No Sanctuary” Video With Liv Kristine

Hortus Animae just released a new video for “There’s No Sanctuary,” featuring a very special guest who recently got booted from her own band. Hortus Animae comments:

“And it’s finally out! Hortus Animae with Liv Kristine – ‘There’s No Sanctuary’ (video edit). Taken from the forthcoming maxi-EP out via Azermedoth Records / BlackHeavens Music in May (USA) and June (Europe).

“You can still take advantage of the EP’s early bird special price and pre-order it here. Many many many thanks to Liv Kristine and Leìt Shivaite for making it happen.”

Post to Twitter

Brutai Announces New Live Shows

Since the successful release of brand new single “Deep,” Brutai has been making waves with catchy modern metal, building anticipation for a new release, due at the end of 2016.

The band was just confirmed for this year’s edition of Bloodstock Festival, alongside the likes of Slayer, Gojira, Mastodon and more, and will perform on the Sophie Lancaster Stage on the Friday.

Brutai is heading out on some dates with The Five Hundred in a couple of weeks. Dates are as follows:

Friday 6th May – Bantam Northampton
Saturday 7th May – Bar 42 Worthing
Sunday 8th May – Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar, Brighton
Friday 13th May – Sound Circus, Bournemouth
Saturday 14th May – The Gryphon, Bristol
Sunday 15th May – Sanctuary Live UK, Basingstoke

Post to Twitter

NEUROSIS Confirms Performance At Heavy Montréal This August; Band Prepares To Invade Maryland Deathfest

Today, NEUROSIS confirms the band’s invitation to perform at this year’s upcoming installment of the massive Heavy Montréal Festival, in Montréal, Quebec. NEUROSIS is one of the latest acts to be confirmed for Heavy Montréal, having just been announced alongside the likes of The Devin Townsend Project, Sanctuary, Obscura, Cattle Decapitation, Revocation and more, joining […]

more metal news here:
NEUROSIS Confirms Performance At Heavy Montréal This August; Band Prepares To Invade Maryland Deathfest

Post to Twitter

New Music Video “Shades Of War” Featuring Warrel Dane Available From Hevilan

Brazilian metal act Hevilan released a new music video for the track “Shades of War.” The song appears on the 2013 debut full length “The End of Time,” which is available from Massacre Records. The video and track features guest performances by Sanctuary vocalist Warrel Dane along with Voodopriest vocalist Vitor Rodrigues.

Check out the video here:

Post to Twitter

Sanctuary Releases “Frozen” Music Video

Reactivated Seattle metal band Sanctuary has released the video for “Frozen,” which was filmed in Germany and directed by Dirk Behlau.

The track comes off the upcoming album, “The Year The Sun Died” (reviewed here), due out October 6th in Europe and October 14th in North America via Century Media Records.

Guitarist Lenny Rutledge comments: “This video shoot was a blast. The location was an abandoned coal mine processing plant near Essen, Germany. You can see many bizarre birdcage size baskets hanging from the ceiling. There were thousands of them. We were told that they were some type of ‘laundry management devices.’ They appear as something much more creepy and ominous in my opinion. Almost as if they were some sort of medieval torture devices. The entire building seemed to have a very haunting vibe.”

“The Year The Sun Died,” the first Sanctuary album in 25 years, is the long-awaited follow-up to the band’s first two studio albums that were released on Epic Records: “Refuge Denied” (1987) and “Into the Mirror Black” (1989).

Post to Twitter