Allegaeon reveals details for new album, ‘Apoptosis’

– January 31st, 2019 –

Launches video for new single, “Stellar Tidal Disruption”

On April 19th, Allegaeon will release their new album, Apoptosis, via Metal Blade Records. A near-perfect symbiosis of technical, progressive, and melodic death metal, Apoptosis is a record that is as crushingly heavy as it is inventive, lithe and intelligent, and marks a significant leap forward in the band’s songwriting. To watch the video for the first single, “Stellar Tidal Disruption” (directed by Robert Graves //, please visit: – where the album can also be pre-ordered in the following formats:

–opaque grey vinyl (US retail exclusive – limited to 500 copies)
–black / white A/B side vinyl (US webstore exclusive – limited to 250 copies)
–oxblood / milky clear A/B side vinyl (US webstore exclusive – limited to 250 copies)
–clear w/ black smoke vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
–silver w/ oxblood splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
–transparent purple w/ white and black splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 100 copies)

Tracked at Flatline Audio in Denver with long-serving producer Dave Otero (Cattle Decapitation, Cephalic Carnage), Apoptosis is Allegaeon‘s fifth full-length, and the first to feature bassist Brandon Michael. “Musically, Brandon brings a huge new dimension,” vocalist Riley McShane enthuses. “He has this wide breadth of music knowledge and stylistic proficiency that he draws from with excellent taste, and this makes a lot of the songs on ‘Apoptosis‘ come to life.” The record also features a guest appearance by classical guitarist Christina Sandsengen, who duets with guitarist Greg Burgess on “Colors of the Currents”. “On this record, I was more open to new ideas that we might not have used in past,” states guitarist Michael Stancel. “Rather than deleting something because ‘it’s not Allegaeon-y enough’, I would take a step back and see if that idea fit the song and decide if it was worth keeping. With that mentality came some of my favorite songs, because I was less worried about if it fit into our old sound.” This statement is borne out across the whole album, which while very much embodying the core Allegaeon sound that has drawn fans in over the course of their impressive career, it pushes into new territory, and does so with unerring confidence. “Thematically, this record is all about contrast, and the music reflects that perfectly,” says McShane. “The vocals are heavier than ever, but there are also more clean sections. The drums are faster than ever but also more dynamic, and the guitar playing is lower and slower than on most previous albums, but also provides long, melodic and beautiful sections throughout.”

Apoptosis track-listing
1. Parthenogenesis
2. Interphase // Meiosis
3. Extremophiles (B)
4. The Secular Age
5. Exothermic Chemical Combustion
6. Extremophiles (A)
7. Metaphobia
8. Tsunami and Submergence
9. Colors of the Currents
10. Stellar Tidal Disruption
11. Apoptosis

Allegaeon online:

Buy iTunes Artist Page Artist News


Post to Twitter

Manowar Taps Hamilton Sterling For “Kings Of Metal MMXIV”

Following movie and theater legend Brian Blessed (“Hamlet,” “Flash Gordon”) Manowar has now teamed up with another Hollywood veteran – sound designer Hamilton Sterling – for “The Warrior’s Prayer MMXIV” fromforthcoming new album “Kings Of Metal MMXIV.”

Brian Blessed had recorded the epic narration earlier this year and called it “a brilliant piece of writing” and the collaboration with Manowar “completely miraculous and life changing.”

“Brian did a sensational job! He didn’t just narrate the story. He performed it.” said Manowar bassist and producer Joey DeMaio. “When you listen to the narration, you feel like you are watching a short Hollywood movie. We instantly knew that we had to complement Brian’s outstanding performance with sound effects of the same quality. We searched for another Hollywood heavyweight, and Mr. Hamilton Sterling was the perfect choice!”

Hollywood veteran Hamilton Sterling is a sound effects specialist with numerous credits including action blockbusters like “The Dark Knight,” “Men In Black 3,” “War Of The Worlds,” and “Master And Commander: The Far Side of the World,” two of which won Oscars for Best Sound Editing.

Sterling comments: “My friend, the Grammy Award winning Audio Engineer Rich Breen, contacted me regarding Manowar’s soundscape project The Warrior’s Prayer MMXIV. In this case, a previously recorded narrative framework was in place, spoken by the excellent actor Brian Blessed, who I had seen as a young man in Robert Graves’ I, Claudius. His evocative performance was a marvel of emotion, and its dynamic range allowed me the space to move from the most quiet and ethereal sounds to full-on battle. His imaginative performance was an excellent guide, as was Mr. DeMaio’s sense of story and direction.”

Catch the band live:

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 – Olymp Palace of Sports – Krasnodar, Russia
Friday, Mar 21, 2014 – Luzhniki Palace of Sports – Moscow, Russia
Sunday, March 23, 2014 – Yubileyny Sports Palace – St. Petersburg, Russia
Saturday, July 26, 2014 – Suvilahti Open Air – Helsinki, Finland

Post to Twitter