Avatarium Releasing New EP “All I Want”

Hailing from Stockholm, gloomy metal outfit Avatarium (featuring Leif Edling and Marcus Jidell) was founded in late 2012.

Following the success of the eponymous debut release last year (reviewed here), Avatarium has just announced the release of a new EP titled “All I Want.” The vinyl/digital only EP will be out November 14th, 2014 via Nuclear Blast.

Psychedelic percussionist Michael Blair, who has worked with Tom Waits and Lou Reed among others, will be guesting on “All I Want.”

Commented guitarist Marcus Jidell: “He showed up at the studio with a big ‘bag of tricks’ with metals, crashers, shakers and a lot of strange things which he made sound like if you throw in a punkrocker at Woodstock and feed him with psychedelic pills!”

About the new songs, he adds: “We tried to keep things simple and spontaneous during the recordings, something I hope people will be able to hear. Also I think that Jennie-Ann Smith has reached new levels with the way she sings on both of the new songs!”

The new EP’s track listing is as follows:

Side A (45 RPM)
01. All I Want
02. Deep Well
Side B (33 RPM)
01. Pandora’s Egg (live)
02. Tides Of Telepathy (live)
03. Bird Of Prey (live)

The three live songs were recorded at the 2013 edition of the renowned Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Netherlands, which was the second ever Avatarium show and the first one outside of Sweden. Catch Avatarium live on these dates:

15.11. D Würzburg – Hammer Of Doom

26.12. D Berlin – Huxley’s Neue Welt
27.12. D Leipzig – Täubchenthal
28.12. D München – Backstage
29.12. NL Tilburg – O13
30.12. CH Pratteln – Z7
31.12. D Essen – Weststadthalle

Post to Twitter