Video Clip For New Song “Avalanche” Available From Cellar Darling

Cellar Darling, the new band formed by ex-Eluveitie members Anna Murphy, Merlin Sutter and Ivo Henzi, issued a music video for the new single “Avalanche.” The song appears on the debut album “This Is The Sound,” due to drop on June 30th,2017 via Nuclear Blast Records.

“Avalanche” tells yet another grim abstract story, painting a picture of the end of things. In band’s own words: “We’d like to take you on another journey into a picturesque, abstract world. Listen to the summoners of the ‘Avalanche’. A story about a cult and a freezing end to an intimate deathwish. Shot in the heat of beautiful Tenerife, an intentionally contradictory setting, this video tells you our story with symbolism and movement, contrasts & metaphors. So sit back and let your imagination run wild, enjoy!”

The track listing for “This is the Sound” is:

1. Avalanche
2. Black Moon (see video clip here)
3. Challenge
4. Hullaballoo
5. Six Days
6. The Hermit
7. Water
8. Fire, Wind & Earth
9. Rebels
10. Under The Oak Tree…
11. …High Above These Crowns
12. Starcrusher
13. Hedonia
14. Redemption

Bonus tracks, available exclusively on the digibook:

15. The Cold Song
16. Mad World
17. The Prophet’s Song

Check out “Avalanche” here:

Post to Twitter

Eluveitie Recruits New Members To Be Announced January 5th

Following the departure of drummer Merlin Sutter, vocalist Anna Murphy and guitarist Ivo Henzi back in May, Eluveitie has now solidified a new lineup. Nuclear Blast Records comments:

“Eluveitie is alive, complete and stronger than ever before! After the folk metal superstars had to part ways with some band members in May 2016, the mourning and waiting is over: the new line-up is set!

“It was a long tramp for the fans as well as for the band to get there. They have taken a lot of time with the search for new musicians and now they can present the possibly strongest line-up of the band! They’re very excited and can’t wait to storm the stages of the world!

“But who are these new members? It is not revealed yet. But it will be worth it to check the completely new designed website of the band from the 15th of December, because there will be a countdown to reveal the new line-up! New and old band members will be presented little by little with wanted poster, videos and interviews. The complete new line-up will be unvealed on January 5th, one day before the band’s own festival, Eluveitie & Friends, will take place at Z7, Pratteln, Switzerland! At this festival, Eluveitie will perform with their new line-up for the first time!”

Frontman Chrigel adds: “It’s a great feeling to be complete again! We’re full of zest for action and looking forward to enter the world’s stages again!”

Post to Twitter

New Single “Challenge” Available From Cellar Darling

Cellar Darling, the new band of ex-Eluveitie members Anna Murphy, Merlin Sutter & Ivo Henzi, have released their highly anticipated first single, ‘Challenge’! This marks the very first release from the trio after the high-profile departure from Eluveitie earlier this year, and it has already exceeded all expectations.

Check out “Challenge” in the player below, along with the single’s non-album b-side “Fire, Wind & Earth.”

Cellar Darling has confirmed a first show with Anneke Van Giersbergen’s The Gentle Storm at the Melkweg, Amsterdam on December 17.

“Challenge” and “Fire, Wind & Earth” are available now for download on all digital platforms and services. Both songs were released this past Friday, 23rd Sep, 2016.

Both songs were recorded by Cellar Darling and Marco Jencarelli & Anna Murphy at Soundfarm, mixed by Tommy Vetterli at Newsound studios, and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street studios. All strings are recorded by the one and only Shir-Ran Yinon, and the artwork features photography by Merlin Sutter.

The unique lyric video features the talented actress Fabienne Fellmann (who is also featured on the cover artwork). It is based on an idea by Anna Murphy, directed by Anna Murphy & Cellar Darling, with videography and editing by Merlin Sutter and generous post-production help by Michel Frutig @Maybaum.

The band comments on the songs:

“‘Challenge’ is about an inner struggle, a battle you are fighting against yourself and the world. It is you, screaming at yourself in the mirror and getting high on new found strength. It is failing, overcoming and achieving. The bipolar dance that is life.

“We have fallen. We have screamed. We have battled. We found strength. We will overcome.

“Challenge is inspired by a visual image that crept into Anna’s mind, during what felt like a period tainted with recurring downfall and getting back up again. The music accompanying this image is a symbiosis of dance and combat, sweet and angry.

“‘Fire, Wind & Earth’ was written recorded in the same sweaty summer sessions. The idea for the intro riff was stuck in Ivo’s head for a long time. As soon as all of Cellar Darling started working together on it, the whole song just evolved naturally. The result is a very straightforward and furious song, both musically and lyrically!”

Cellar Darling is a 3-piece band from Switzerland. The group was formed by Anna Murphy (vocals, hurdy-gurdy), Merlin Sutter (drums) and Ivo Henzi (guitars & bass). All three members of Cellar Darling have left the most successful Swiss metal band ever, Eluveitie, in June 2016 in an unexpected and stunning turn of events. In their decade with the band, they have recorded and released 6 albums and have played nearly a thousand shows in more than 45 countries on 6 continents, picking up a fan-voted Swiss Music Award as ‘Best Live Act’ along the way:

“For over 12 years we got to do what we love most in the world, and when it all fell apart one faithful day last summer, we were as stunned as the fans. Eluveitie was our life, touring the world many times over, meeting fans in all corners of the planet…

“What we are left with is the overwhelming support from the best fans in the world, as well as incredible creativity, drive, and the desire to share with the world what we have in store for the future. Friendship and support have helped us through a very dark period filled with anguish and uncertainty, and we are thankful to both our fans and the colleagues and friends who came through for us – you know who you are.

“One thing that never ceased is the music flowing in our veins. The three of us have helped each other through this, and have channeled all that energy into these two songs. We’ve stepped up to the challenge that life threw at us. We are looking forward to continuing our musical journey with you all. For your friendship, we will reward you thousandfold!”

“Anna, Ivo & Merlin”

Check out “Challenge” here:

Check out “Fire, Wind & Earth” here:

Post to Twitter

In Studio Video On Debut Album Posted By Cellar Darling

Cellar Darling – the new band featuring Anna Murphy, Ivo Henzi and Merlin Sutter which was formed following the recent lineup change of Eluveitie – issued a video studio report on the upcoming debut album. The clip contains snippets of the recording sessions and new music.

More information on the album is coming soon. For now, check out the clip here:

Post to Twitter