GNAW To Release Third LP, Cutting Pieces, Via Translation Loss In October; “Septic” Playing At Decibel Magazine

New York City-based experimental/noise metal outfit GNAW has completed the harrowing third album, Cutting Pieces, securing the record for late October release through Translation Loss Records. The LP’s “Septic” is now playing at Decibel Magazine as the label issues preorders and more. Closing a four-year gap since their acclaimed Horrible Chamber LP (Seventh Rule, 2013), […]

more metal news here:
GNAW To Release Third LP, Cutting Pieces, Via Translation Loss In October; “Septic” Playing At Decibel Magazine

Post to Twitter

5IVE: Magic Bullet Records’ Five Weeks Of 5IVE Continues With The Hemophiliac Dream + The Theory Of Abstract Light Solo Recordings Reissues

Magic Bullet Records’ Five Weeks Of 5IVE continues, as the label digitally reissues the entire catalog of defunct Boston riff/math/doom rock act, 5IVE. The past two weeks have seen the rebirth of 5IVE‘s self-titled debut and follow-up The Telestic Disfracture, andnow this Friday, September 8th, will see the label re-releasing the outfit’s third title, The […]

heavy metal updates:
5IVE: Magic Bullet Records’ Five Weeks Of 5IVE Continues With The Hemophiliac Dream + The Theory Of Abstract Light Solo Recordings Reissues

Post to Twitter

Facedown Offering 50% Off Digital Downloads Labor Day Weekend

Facedown Records is now offering a Labor Day sale of half off all digital music through the label’s webstore here. Facedown comments:

“All digital downloads in the online store are 50% off today through Monday. Including the preorder for the new Fleshkiller album! No coupon required. Sale pricing is good worldwide.

“Speaking of Fleshkiller, make sure to check out the music video below for ‘Warfare’ and the lyric video that was just released today for ‘Salt Of The Earth!'”

Post to Twitter

Artery Recordings Sold to Warner Bros. Records – Entire Staff Has Been Let Go

Warner Bros. Records has acquired Artery Recordings. In a statement former president Shan Dan Horan confirms the news, which saw the entire staff of the label let go:

“To address the rumors, yes, Artery has been sold to Warner. I can’t disclose too much about the deal, but building up this company to a million record sales in just five years is a tremendous accomplishment for the fans, our artists and the team. I’m humbled and appreciate each and every band I’ve ever had the honor of developing at Artery Recordings. As we hand over the keys to Warner, I’m not quite sure their plans for the label or catalog, but I hope they keep the legacy alive. With new Slaves and Capture albums on the horizon, I’m sure the fans will be ecstatic.”

In the past Artery Recordings’ output included releases from Attila, Chelsea Grin, Kublai Khan and various others. Vents guitarist Jacob Harmond of Chelsea Grin, who put out 3 albums through the label, on the matter via Twitter:

Lol. So fucking wack. That label would be nothing without CG and Attila, and we don’t get SHIT for royalities. Bum ass shit ?????? https://t.co/ghQ17sXLRF

— Jacob Harmond (@JaekGrin) August 29, 2017

Post to Twitter

SiriusXM Liquid Metal announces For The Sake Of Heaviness – Metal Blade Records 35th Anniversary Week

– August 25th, 2017 –

Starting Friday, August 25th @ Midnight ET / 9pm PT (ending Friday, September 1st @ Midnight ET / 9pm PT), SiriusXM Liquid Metal will host For The Sake Of Heaviness- Metal Blade Records 35th Anniversary Week, featuring Metal Blade Records founder and CEO Brian Slagel every hour introducing his favorite cuts from the 35 year history of the label that brought the world Metallica, Slayer, Cannibal Corpse, GWAR and more.

In addition, SiriusXM host Jose Mangin sits down with Slagel to discuss the new book For The Sake Of Heaviness: The History Of Metal Blade Records, which comes out August 29th (and was co-written by Mark Eglinton).

Bloody Roots, Liquid Metal’s popular specialty show hosted by Bazillion Points publisher Ian Christe, and Corridor Of Covers, an hour long covers show, will both focus on Metal Blade Records, featuring only songs that have to do with the label Brian started in his garage 35 years ago.

See below for air times; for more information, please visit: facebook.com/siriusxmliquidmetal

Brian Slagel Interview
Friday 8/25 @ 5pm ET / 2pm PT
Friday 8/25 @ 8pm ET / 5pm PT
Saturday 8/26 @ 1pm ET / 10am PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 7pm ET / 4pm PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 9pm ET / 6pm PT
Thursday 8/31 @ 3pm ET / Noon PT

Bloody Roots of Metal Blade Records
Saturday 8/26 @ 6pm ET / 3pm PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 1pm ET / 10am PT
Monday 8/28 @ 9am ET / 6am PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 4pm ET / 1pm PT
Thursday 8/31 @ 9pm ET / 6pm PT

Cover Of Covers Metal Blade Edition
Friday 8/25 @ 2pm ET / 11am PT
Saturday 8/26 @ 10pm ET / 7pm PT
Sunday 8/27 @ 4pm ET / 1pm PT
Tuesday 8/29 @ 10am ET / 7am PT

Metal Blade Records online:
http://www.metalblade.com
https://www.facebook.com/metalbladerecords
https://twitter.com/MetalBlade
https://www.youtube.com/MetalBladeRecords
https://instagram.com/metalbladerecords

Tweet

Post to Twitter

Motograter Premieres Music Video For “Dorian” From Brand New Album “Desolation”

Motograter just released the official music video for the band’s latest single “Dorian” directed and produced by Christopher Davis (Human Twelve). The track is taken from Motograter’s sophomore album ‘Desolation’ released past Friday, August 11th, 2017 via EMP Label Group.

Check out now “Dorian” below.

Post to Twitter

Valient Thorr Frontman Blasts Napalm Records: “They Can Go Fuck Themselves”

Valient Thorr vocalist Valient Himself is obviously not a fan of Napalm Records, who released the outfit’s latest effort “Old Salt”. Talking on the MetalSucks Podcast, he slams the label, stating:

“It’s unfortunate that we have a label that doesn’t really give a shit about us. Because that record came out August 30th of last year, and we did three tours in Europe around it and this tour right here [the annual ‘Vans Warped Tour‘] is the first one we’ve done in the States. So it would be nice if we’d had some kind of push from the label… I think it was like one of those… I don’t know if it’s a tax scam or what… but we didn’t sell like ten or fifteen thousand records the first day or something, so they don’t give a damn about us.”

“I’m not afraid to say it, we’re speaking about Napalm Records.”

He continues:

“Everyone in Europe said that they were great, ‘It’s gonna be fantastic, you’re gonna be on this great label.’ Everyone thought that. And they didn’t spend any money to put out any ads [for the album]. They promised us tour support, they didn’t [give us any]. They literally gave us a list of bands of who we should tour with — ‘You do a tour with them you’ll get some support.’ First name on the list [is] Clutch. ‘Hey, you wanna do a tour with Clutch in December?’ ‘Yeah, absolutely!’ We did it.

And Clutch’s profile has gotten HUGE in Europe. We toured with them in 2011 and they were big but, now they’re doing 2,500-3,000 cap places and selling them out all over Europe. And that was in Decmember and we did that. And we had to do local shows just to pay for our own airfare and everything because [Napalm] weren’t kicking down anything. And the same with this tour.

We’d be killing it on this tour right now… I don’t wanna say I’m completely unhappy because I’m a happy person, I’m not gonna let one thing run me down, but we’d be a lot happier if we weren’t spending every nickel that we made on this tour on our transportation, y’know what I mean? And when you have a label that doesn’t give a shit about you, that’s what happens.”

“This is our first and last record with them. They can go fuck themselves.”

Post to Twitter

Akercocke Debuts New Song “Disappear” From Upcoming New Album “Renaissance in Extremis”

British death metal outfit Akercocke debuts a new song entitled “Disappear”, taken from the upcoming new album “Renaissance in Extremis”, which will be released through Peaceville Records on August 25th.

Check out now “Disappear” below.

Describes the label Akercocke’s forthcoming release:

“A comprehensive reinvention and expansion of the band’s multifarious sound, Renaissance In Extremis delivers euphoric force and mind-boggling weirdness. There are scything thrash and death metal riffs in abundance, plus warped but elegant melodies and clouds of ugly dissonance; moments of unsettling calm and quiet. Renaissance In Extremis is a bold, bullish and belligerent statement of creative intent: metal’s dark spirit reborn in an explosion of bright ideas and inspirational fury.”

Post to Twitter

Akercocke Debuts New Song “Disappear” From Upcoming New Album “Renaissance in Extremis”

British death metal outfit Akercocke debuts a new song entitled “Disappear”, taken from the upcoming new album “Renaissance in Extremis”, which will be released through Peaceville Records on August 25th.

Check out now “Disappear” below.

Describes the label Akercocke’s forthcoming release:

“A comprehensive reinvention and expansion of the band’s multifarious sound, Renaissance In Extremis delivers euphoric force and mind-boggling weirdness. There are scything thrash and death metal riffs in abundance, plus warped but elegant melodies and clouds of ugly dissonance; moments of unsettling calm and quiet. Renaissance In Extremis is a bold, bullish and belligerent statement of creative intent: metal’s dark spirit reborn in an explosion of bright ideas and inspirational fury.”

Post to Twitter

Devilish Impressions Signs With Lifeforce Records To Release “The I”

Formed in the year 2000 as a studio project and then as a regular live-band six years later, Devilish Impression from Poland is a dominant black / death metal band that’s quickly pummeling through the genre and making its way to fans and media around the globe.

After previously releasing the 2012 studio album “Simulacra” with Lifeforce Records, the label is happy to announce Devilish Impression’s return with new album “The I,” which is set to come out in late September.

Lifeforce Records owner Stefan Lüdicke commments: “I’m thrilled to work with Devilish Impressions again to hopefully push the band to the next level. The guys in the band are dedicated hard workers. They know exactly what they want, what is needed to reach their goal and their new album is very big step forward musically. I truly believe we can turn some heads with “The I.”

Post to Twitter