Vanishing Point Re-Issuing “Tangled In Dream” Special Edition

“Tangled In Dream,” the 2000 released album by Australian melodic progressive metal band Vanishing Point, will be re-issued as a 2-CD special edition on January 27th, 2017 via AFM Records.

After being out of print and not available digitally, this new edition finally allows fans to re-discover one of the early 2000’s most impressive releases in the genre. Disc 1 holds the regular album while CD II includes 10 bonus tracks (9 of these available on CD format outside of Japan for the first time ever).

Guitarist Chris Porcianko comments: “This album has a special place in the hearts of many Vanishing Point fans, we didn’t know until the last few years the impact it made on old and new VP fans so with the good folk at AFM we decided to get this old chestnut out again. It wasn’t available regularly for years, so we are very happy to not only re-release it, but also to add a bonus CD with 10 rare and unreleased tracks.

“Among these is ‘Samsara II,’ a brand new recording, which is a remake of ‘Samsara,’ with an updated arrangement and a more symphonic kind of touch to it which is reflective on how VP sounds these days. The re-issue of ‘Tangled In Dream’ only marks the beginning of an exciting year 2017 for Vanishing Point, as we have completed the writing for our upcoming new studio album which will see the light of day in the second half of 2017.

“We are really looking forward to getting the new music out to you all in 2017 , more motivated than ever, excited to have ‘Tangled In Dream’ re-released and we hope that this finally paves a way for some potential touring opportunities in the near future.”

01. Surreal
02. Samsara
03. Closer Apart
04. Bring On The Rain
05. Never Walk Away
06. The Real You
07. Two Minds And One Soul
08. I Will Awake
09. Dancing With The Devil
10. Father (7 Years)
11. Tangled In Dream

01. Samsara II
(newly recorded 2016 version)
02. Separate Ways
(Journey cover; first time ever on CD)
03. On The Turning Away
(Pink Floyd cover)
04. The Endless Road
(Japan bonus “Distant Is The Sun”)
05. Veil Of Deceit
(Japan bonus “The Fourth Season”)
Live and Unplugged on PBS FM (2003):
06. The Real You
07. Dancing With The Devil
08. Inner Peace
09. Hollow
10. Vanishing Point

Post to Twitter

Wacken Open Air 2015 To Feature Savatage Reunion And Running Wild’s Return To The Stage

Promoters for the Wacken Open Air Festival announced that Trans-Siberian Orchestra will be performing live on stage at Wacken 2015, followed immediately by a Savatage reunion gig, that will marks the first live performance in over a decade. Furthermore, these appearances are the only live appearances for both bands in Europe in 2015.

Guitarist Chris Caffery proudly proclaimed in his Facebook post: “I am extremely happy to make this post! Today our friends at the Wacken festival announced that Savatage will be finally playing again! Wacken 2015! Both Savatage and the Trans-Siberian Orchestra will make an appearance! Savatage will close the festival that night following #TSO’s first ever European festival appearance! I have been waiting for then to announce this for a a few weeks! It was hard to keep it a secret! Yes Legion…our patience has finally paid off…#Savatage will play again next summer!”

In addition, Running Wild will return to the stage after playing the farewell performance in 2009 before recently returning with two studio releases (“Shadowmaker” and “Resilent”).

Other band named in the first wave of acts are: In Flames, In Extremo, U.D.O. (Special Orchestra show), Sabaton, Amorphis (Special “Tales from the Thousand Lakes” show), Death Angel, Powerwolf, Ensiferum, Kataklysm, Cannibal Corpse, Sepultura and Thyrfing.

The pre-sale starts in the night from Sunday, August 3rd to Monday, August 4th at Midnight (German time) (6:00pm EST) – exclusively at As always, the first offer is the 10,000 limited X-Mas Tickets. The X-Mas tickets will be available for 150€ + 10€ pre-sale fee and will be delivered together with one of the limited W:O:A X-Mas T-Shirts! Every customer can order up to 2 X-Mas tickets.

Post to Twitter

Striker Recruits New Guitarist Tim Brown

Striker reveals today that Tim Brown has joined the band as a new guitarist. Tim is the brother of Adam, the band’s drummer.

He is the former lead guitarist of Canadian female fronted band Kobra and the Lotus (Simmons Records/Universal) as well as local band Sixguns Over Tombstone, which he grew up playing in with Adam.

Guitarist Chris Segger commented on Tim joining the band: “Please welcome our new guitarist Tim Brown!! We’re thrilled to have Adam’s brother join us in time for our upcoming Canadian tour and look forward to seeing you all on the road m/”

Striker is currently on tour in Canada. A complete list of dates can be found below.

Thursday May 23: Fort McMurray AB – The Den
Friday May 24: Red Deer AB – The Vat
Saturday May 25: Edmonton AB – The Pawnshop
Tuesday May 28: Banff AB – The Devils Gap
Thursday May 30: Nelson BC – Spirit Bar
Friday May 31: Kelowna BC – Level Nightclub
Saturday June 1: Vancouver BC – Funky Winkerbeans
Thursday June 6: Regina SK – The Exchange
Friday June 7: Brandon MB – Park Community Centre (All Ages)
Saturday June 8: Winnipeg MB – The Zoo
Sunday June 9: Thunder Bay ON – Crocks
Tuesday June 11: Kitchener ON – The Hive (All Ages)
Wednesday June 12: London ON – Norma Jeans (All Ages)
Sunday June 16: Chicoutimi QC – Le Sous-Bois
Wednesday June 19: Ottawa ON – Caf

Post to Twitter

Widow Streaming New Song "Embrace It"

U.S. power metal act Widow will be releasing the new album “Life’s Blood” on November 11th, 2011 through Pure Steel Records.

Gun Shy Assassin has now teamed up with Pure Steel Records to exclusively premiere another track from “Life’s Blood.” Check out the track “Embrace It” by heading over here. Guitarist Chris Bennett spoke about the meaning behind “Embrace It:”

“Man, this song is about being in a crazy relationship, one that everybody says won’t work. Sometimes you just find true passion in people, maybe someone you wouldn’t expect. If others say it won’t work, but you believe it you just go for it man! I listen to my gut, and if I feel something is right for me I go forward! You gotta embrace it man!”

Noisecreep is also streaming a track entitled “Take Hold of the Night,” which is available at this location.

The track listing for “Life’s Blood” is as follows:

1. Lady Twilight (4:09)
2. Blood In Dreams (4:49)
3. Take Hold of the Night (3:39)
4. Another Fallen Angel (5:10)
5. Embrace It (4:23)
6. Behind the Light (3:26)
7. The Burning_Ones (3:12)
8. Live Beyond (5:01)
9. Judgment Day (3:46)
10. I Scream for Ice Queen (4:17)
11. Remembering (3:45)
12. The One I Know (2:50)

Post to Twitter