Portland doom quartet USNEA released third full-length album Portals Into Futility last Friday via Relapse Records.

Comments guitarist/vocalist Justin Cory, Portals Into Futility was a journey for us to write, and hopefully a journey that also presents itself to the listener. The record is a catharsis of a great deal of anxiety, pain and suffering, seeking to be both an escape from those realities and a meditation on them. From the […]

heavy metal updates:
Portland doom quartet USNEA released third full-length album Portals Into Futility last Friday via Relapse Records.

Post to Twitter

Usnea Debuts New Song “Eidolons and the Increate” From Upcoming New Album “Portals Into Futility”

Portland doom outfit Usnea debuts a new song entitled “Eidolons and the Increate”, taken from the upcoming new album “Portals Into Futility”, which will be out in stores September 8 via Relapse Records.

Check out now “Eidolons and the Increate” below.

Explains Usnea:

“‘Eidolons and the Increate’ ebbs from a murkiness in the future where humanity has fallen from a technological grace, the sun is dying and callous brutality is the way of the land. Mirroring the dark psychedelia of its source of inspiration, Gene Wolfe’s Shadow of the Torturer, it is a meditation on the self-destructive conceits of humanity.”

Post to Twitter

Usnea Releases New Video For “Pyrrhic Victory”

Portland doom unit Usnea today shares an official music video for “Pyrrhic Victory,” which comes by way of the group’s upcoming “Portals Into Futility” full-length album. Watch the Frank Huang (Maximum Volume Silence) directed clip below.

Inspired by dystopian science-fiction and the painful intersection of today’s crushing reality, “Portals Into Futility” offers five songs and fifty-six minutes of elegantly depressive doom/sludge. The album is due out September 8th on CD, 2xLP, and digital formats via Relapse Records.

Post to Twitter

Dawn Of Tyrants Streams “Breed Ruin” EP

Canada’s blackend death / doom group Dawn Of Tyrants just released new EP “Breed Ruin,” which can be heard in full below or picked up at Bandcamp here. The track listing is as follows:

1. Some Above, Most Below 05:07
2. What Can Be Broken…Must Be Broken 06:48
3. Breeding Ruin 07:39
4. Fallen Figure of Futility 03:45
5. Dethroned Emperor (Celtic Frost) 05:25

Breeding Ruin by Dawn of Tyrants

Post to Twitter

Dwell Releases “A Lie In Futility” Music Video

Dwell just released a music video for “A Lie in Futility,” taken from debut full-length album “Innate, which came out last month via Blood & Ink Records. You can also catch the band live on these dates:

11/10 – Columbus, OH – Double Happiness
11/11 – Grand Rapids, MI – Take Hold Fest
11/12 – Grand Rapids, MI – Take Hold Fest
11/13 – Detroit, MI – The Sanctuary
11/14 – Milwaukee, WI – JJ’s w/ Malice At The Palace
11/15 – Lansing, IL – Royal Skateshop
11/18 – Ringold, GA – Cloud Springs Deli
11/19 – Myrtle Beach, SC- Rockin Hard Saloon

Post to Twitter

Dwell Streaming “Scars Of Grief”

New track “Scars of Grief” from U.S. hardcore outfit Dwell comes online today. This is the first single from Dwell’s forthcoming album, “Innate,” due to drop September 9th via Blood & Ink Records.

1. Scars of Grief
2. This Ground is Cursed
3. Innate
4. A Lie in Futility
5. Open Vein
6. Forfeit
7. Seasons and Trials
8. Like the Leech On Our Skin
9. Relief of Sin
10. When Aid Has Become Poison

Innate by Dwell

Post to Twitter

Dejected Mass Releasing “Dirge” Album

Dejected Mass’ new album “Dirge” is due out July 21st via Bandcamp here. You can check out opening track “Bonds Of Sadness” below, and the following press release was also issued about the album:

“‘Dirge’ is massive, great walls of dark, opaque guitars crashing down, chugging along at a tempo that conveys an urgency and brooding sense of menace. But holds onto a tension and aggression. Dejected Mass created the kind of record you almost wanna call a work of art, an obsidian hulk of crushing guitars and primal sorrow, heartbreak and the futility of life captured in sonic form.”

1. Bonds Of Sadness
2. Crave
3. Branch Of Freedom
4. Methanol Death
5. Desensitized
6. Worthless Life


Post to Twitter

Futility Streaming Second Album

Canberra ambient doom/drone band Futility is streaming its second album “The View from Here” over on Bandcamp. The album contains seven epic-length tracks and features an unusual doom/death cover of the Pink Floyd song “Comfortably Numb.” You can also stream Futility’s debut album over on that page. Listen to all seven songs below, which clock in at well over an hour.

The View From Here by Futility

Post to Twitter