City Of Tyrants Premiere New Song & Lyric Video “Astral Projection” From Upcoming New Album “Revelations”

New Jersey based Metal band CITY OF TYRANTS has released the official lyric video for “Astral Projection,” the first single off of their upcoming album, REVELATIONS. Due out 11/16/2018, REVELATIONS will be a concept album addressing the conflict and confusion of pursuing ones personal ideology.

Post to Twitter

Skálmold To Release New Album, “Sorgir,” This Fall

Icelandic Viking metal band SKÁLMÖLD will release their fifth full length album this fall, entitled “Sorgir.” The album title (which translates to “sorrows”) is appropriate for this concept album that is divided in two parts: The first four songs tell four short stories about tragedies and death. It is called Sagnir (tales). The second chapter called Svipir (ghosts) thickens the plot by telling the same four stories from a different perspective.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Ljósið
2. Sverðið
3. Brúnin
4. Barnið
5. Skotta
6. Gangári
7. Móri
8. Mara

“Sorgir” is available in the following formats:

1 CD Digipak + Bonus Track
2 LP Gatefold in different colors

You can pre-order the album here.

From August 22nd til August 25th SKÁLMÖLD will play four special shows together with the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra in their hometown of Reykjavik. Three shows are already completely sold out.

Post to Twitter

Atala Debut New Music Video For “Tabernacle Of”

Twentynine Palms, CA-based sludge/doom metal group Atala just released their upcoming full-length concept album, Labyrinth of Ashmedai, via Salt of the Earth Records. As a follow up to their most recent music video for the sludge metal anthem “Wilted Leaf”, Atala has just revealed another desert-based music video for the track “Tabernacle Of”. Watch the video below:

Post to Twitter

Atala Share Drum Playthrough Video For New Single “Deaths Dark Tomb”

Twentynine Palms, CA-based sludge/doom metal group Atala will release their upcoming full-length concept album, Labyrinth of Ashmedai, on January 26, 2018 via Salt of the Earth Records. Today, the band shares a drum playthrough of the track “Deaths Dark Tomb”, featuring Jeff Tedtaotao.

Check out the playthrough below.

Post to Twitter

Atala Reveal New Track “Death’s Dark Tomb”

Twentynine Palms, CA-based sludge/doom metal group Atala recently announced the upcoming release of their full-length concept album, Labyrinth of Ashmedai, out January 26, 2018 via Salt of the Earth Records.

Today Atala debut a brand new song, entitled “Death’s Dark Tomb” – a track directly tied into the album’s demonic concept. The slow and low, sauntering crusher can be heard now below.

The concept of Labyrinth of Ashmedai is inspired by Asmodeus, or “Ashmedai”, the biblical “king of demons”. Conjuring grit-laced sludge inspired by their barren and often oppressive desert backdrop, Atala grips the listener with reflective, crushing doom atmospheres dripping with stoner rock and experimental influences to boot.

Post to Twitter

Binary Creed Releases “A Battle Won” In North America

Swedish progressive metal band Binary Creed follows the “Restitution” album with new opus “A Battle Won,” which is now finally available in North America as of September 8th via Rockshots Records / MVD Entertainment Distribution.

Singer Andreas Stoltz describes the sound of Binary Creed as “melodic, gritty, atmospheric, layered and heavy!” Stoltz says the subject matter of “A Battle Won” is as heavy as its music.

“The album is a concept album about war, blind obedience and what you sometimes need to do to get away and make yourself a better life. It is about making a stand against oppression and violence even it’s at a very high cost. The opening track ‘Servants’ portrays the madness of blindly following someone else’s doctrine into war. ‘The Fallen King’ is about realizing that what you felt was right and important was actually wrong and futile. It’s also about choosing family over religious dogma and facing mortality – that all you have is this brief moment here on Earth.”

Post to Twitter

Persona Posts “Metamorphosis” Album Trailer

Tunisian sextet Persona will release sophomore “Metamorphosis” on the 15th of September, 2017. Comprised of 12 tracks and clocking in over one hour long, “Metamorphosis” is a progressive/melodic metal concept album about battling and overcoming one’s dilemmas and fears. Pre-orders are online here and the track listing is as follows:

1. Prologue – The Initiation
2. The Omen of Downfall
3. Esurience Guilefulness Omnipotence
4. Armour of Thorns
5. Netherlight
6. Bête Noire
7. Invidia
8. Hellgrind
9. Credence
10. In Memoriam
11. The Seeress of Triumph
12. Epilogue – The Final Deliverance

Post to Twitter

Centuries Of Decay Streaming Full New Album

Toronto quintet Centuries Of Decay will drop a debut, self-titled concept album this coming August 4th, 2017. Today the group has released an advance full album stream – check it out below.

Drummer Derrick Doucette comments: “We’ve often thought about the fragility of civilization throughout history and the idea of events repeating itself. With that in mind, our concept album tells the story of society being born, corrupt and destroyed in an endless cycle. It can be taken as a literal piece of fiction, or even a social commentary. It also comes from more personal issues such as depression, disillusionment and failure.”

1. Intro (1:10)
2. Centuries of Decay (9:56)
3. The Architect (4:12)
4. Asylum (5:46)
5. Odyssey (8:50)
6. Wings of Death (4:55)
7. Rise (6:26)
8. Demise (12:18)

Post to Twitter

Anubis Gate Posts “Covered In Black” Teaser

Anubis Gate just released the first teaser video for upcoming album “Covered In Black,” which is due to drop via Nightmare Records on September 1st.

The album was produced by Kim Olesen and Jacob Hansen, and while its not a concept album, it is what the band describes as a theme album.

Anubis Gate comments: “[Its] about people in dark places. From psychopaths, assassins to the more modern topics of being at the receiving end of what is bad about social media. Topics of lifelong failure and revenge are touched upon. The ten-song-long album has two suites, both consisting of three songs. One has the songs spread here and there on the album, while the other is connected as one long piece if you wish to listen to it that way. Wonderfully old-fashioned and just the way we like it. And it is, we feel, simply the best album we’ve ever done”

1. Psychotopia
2. The New Delhi Assassination
3. The Combat
4. Too Much Time
5. A Journey To Nowhere
6. Black
7. Blacker
8. Blackets
9. Operation Cairo
10. From Afar

Post to Twitter

The Summoned Premieres New Music Video “Faradic” From Upcoming New Album “Sessions”

Boston tech-metal quartet The Summoned has just released the official video for “Faradic” a song from the forthcoming album “Sessions”. The video was directed, edited, and filmed by Stephen Thompson. The band will release the sophomore full-length “Sessions” on June 16, 2017.

Check out now “Faradic” below.

Explains the band:

“Sessions is a concept album about the journey through the mind of a troubled mental patient who is struggling to confront his own personal demons through a series of sessions with a psychiatrist. Each individual song resembles those sessions. Whether they’re spastic (to give the feeling of panic the patient is feeling), or offering triggering the epiphany that is his own reality, Sessions is not just an album… it’s an experience.”

Post to Twitter