Former Faith No More Vocalist Chuck Mosley Passes Away

Former Faith No More singer Chuck Mosley has passed away at the age of fifty seven, a post from his family has confirmed. The vocalist fronted Faith No More prior to them recruiting current singer Mike Patton and could be heard on such staples as “We Care A Lot.” He also spent a short time as the frontman of hardcore legends Bad Brains. The message from his family reads thusly:

“After a long period of sobriety, Charles Henry Mosley III lost his life, on November 9th, 2017, due to the disease of addiction. We’re sharing the manner in which he passed, in the hopes that it might serve as a warning or wake up call or beacon to anyone else struggling to fight for sobriety. He is survived by long-term partner Pip Logan, two daughters, Erica and Sophie and his grandson Wolfgang Logan Mosley. The family will be accepting donations for funeral expenses. Details to follow when arranged.”

Post to Twitter

Primitive Race Unveils New Album “Soul Pretender”

Primitive Race — the hard rock/industrial hybrid helmed by Chris Kniker with core members Mark Gemini Thwaite (The Mission UK/Peter Murphy) and Erie Loch (Wiccid/Luxt) — will release sophomore album “Soul Pretender” on November 3rd via Metropolis Records.

As was the case with the band’s debut, Kniker brought on a group of guest musicians into the Primitive Race fold, with the full album featuring vocals by former Faith No More singer Chuck Mosley and drums by the Melvins’ Dale Crover.

The album was produced by the band’s core trio, with Kniker recruiting Maor Appelbaum (Faith No More/Sepultura) for mastering, Toshi Kasai (Melvins/Helmet) for engineering, and Joe Haze (tweaker/PIG) for mixing.

“Musically, ‘Soul Pretender’ was a natural progression from the first album,” explains Kniker. “To have Chuck and Dale involved was perfect! They really brought a new vision to the project. Their style is a perfect match with Mark, Erie and myself. This record is more focused and organic. I wanted more of an alternative rock record. Stripped down. Live real drums. There’s space in the record. I didn’t want some overly polished ‘perfect’ record.”

1. Row House
2. Cry Out
3. Cranial Matter
4. Take It All
5. Bed Six
6. Stepping Stone
7. Turn It Up
8. Soul Pretender
9. Nothing to Behold
10. Dancing On The Sun

Post to Twitter

Faith No More Posts Full 1986 Performance Video

Faith No More, which releases “We Care A Lot (Deluxe Band Edition)” on Friday, today shares video of the band’s full 1986 I-Beam performance. Check it out below.

Audio from two of the songs performed that January 13 evening, “The Jungle” and “New Beginnings,” are included on the reissue. The original 10-song album has been re-mastered by Maor Appelbaum via the original reels Bill Gould unearthed in his basement.

This new edition is enhanced with nine bonus tracks including demo versions (taken from the original 8-track tapes) of “Greed,” “Mark Bowen,” “Arabian Disco” and “Intro,” live versions of “The Jungle” and “New Beginnings” and new mixes of “We Care A Lot,” “Pills for Breakfast” and “As The Worm Turns.” Liner notes from keyboard player Roddy Bottum and behind-the-scenes photos will be included with the physical release.

It’s been a busy week for the San Francisco-based band, with Gould, Mike Bordin, Roddy Bottum and Jon Hudson surprising fans at Chuck Mosley’s San Francisco and Los Angeles shows for a set featuring music from the seminal album.

Post to Twitter

Dead By Wednesday Announces Acoustic Tour With Marc Rizzo

New Haven, CT’s Dead By Wednesday released their new album, “The Darkest Of Angels,” on May 20th in Europe via David Ellefon‘s EMP Label Group and distributed by SPV.

Now the band has announced an acoustic promo tour opening for Chuck Mosley. Soulfly / Cavalera Conspiracy guitarist Marc Rizzo will join the tour as special guest.

Comments Dead By Wednesday’s drummer Opus: “In July, myself (Opus Lawrence) & Rob Roy, (the new singer of Dead By Wednesday) are going out on a rad lil’ acoustic tour promoting our new album ‘The Darkest of Angels’ & we’re opening for Chuck Mosley (the original singer of Faith No More & EMP Label Group mate)!

“Well if that’s not good enough, we just confirmed that our homie Marc Rizzo of Soulfly/Cavalera Conspiracy will be joining us on guitar for the run! Marc Rizzo actually plays an awesome acoustic solo on ‘The Surgeon,’ a song off our new album as well. Myself & our team are all excited to have such a seasoned true talent who we also call a friend come jam with us! These shows will be epically fun, super intimate & very special so mark your calendars now!!”

– Fri. June 17th – LaconiaFest 2016 @Weirs Drive-In Theater, N. Laconia, NH. *FULL BAND SET*

– Tue. July 12th – In-Store @Young Ones, Records, Kutztown, PA.
– Wed. July 13th – Hard Rock Cafe Philly, Philadelphia, PA.
– Thurs. July 14th – Federal Taphouse, Harrisburg, PA.
– Tues. July 19th – Revolution, Amityville, NY.
– Wed. July 20th – The Angry Chair Hair Salon, Newington, CT.
– Thurs. July 21st – Shaskeen Pub, Manchester, NH.
– Fri. July 22nd – Bishops Lounge, Northampton, MA.
– Sat. July 23rd – Private Party, Plainfield, CT. **Invite Only**

– Sun. Aug. 14th – Rockin’ on the River @Waterfront Tavern, Holyoke, MA. **FULL BAND SET**
– Sat. Aug. 27th – Big Kahuna 2016 @Fete Ballroom, Providence, RI. w/ Mushroomhead & more! **FULL BAND SET**

Post to Twitter