King Of Asgard Streaming “Upon Raging Waves”

Swedish blackened metal band King Of Asgard will release the band’s first new music in three years on March 17th. Titled “Taudr,” this EP sees the group return in force with a revamped lineup and a few surprises.

The five song EP is King Of Asgard’s first release for new label Trollmusic. In advance of the release, today an updated version of the Mithotyn classic “Upon Raging Waves” comes online – listen in below. Additionally, new song “Death and a New Sun” can also be heard after the jump.

1. The Curse and the Wanderer
2. Death and A New Sun
3. Taudr
4. …for the Fury of the Norse
5. Upon Raging Waves

Post to Twitter

New Song “Oath Breaker” Released By Witchery

Swedish blackened metal act Witchery released another track from the upcoming and long-awaited 6th studio album “In His Infernal Majesty’s Service,” which drops via Century Media on November 25th. Check out “Oath Breaker” in the player below.

The track list for the album is:

1. Lavey-athan
2. Zoroast
3. Netherworld Emperor
4. Nosferatu (song streaming here)
5. The Burning Of Salem
6. Gilded Fang
7. Empty Tombs
8. In Warm Blood
9. Escape From Dunwich Valley
10. Feed The Gun
11. Oath Breaker

Check out “Oath Breaker” here:

Post to Twitter

The Flight Of Sleipnir Inks Deal With Eisenwald

Colorado-based The Flight Of Sleipnir has joined the ranks of Eisenwald Records. The label comments:

“To us, they have always stood out as another really expressive and outstanding formation and we are delighted to be able to work with them. The band is currently busy finalizing their next album, with further info to be revealed soon.

“Formed in 2007 by David Csicsely and Clayton Cushman, The Flight of Sleipnir explores ethereal and progressive sounds with lyrics that pursue the rich literature of ancient Scandinavia. Throughout a demo, splits, and five full-length records they have continued to refine their sound; weaving acoustics, blackened metal, doom, and psychedelic all thread into one fine art piece. Freshly equipped with two live and studio members, they are now looking forward to adding the next chapter to the band’s development.”

Clayton Cushman (vocals, guitars) comments: “We are excited to work with Eisenwald, and look forward to our partnership to help us forge the next TFOS record and beyond. We are honored to join the roster of friends and fine artists as we move towards the next chapter for The Flight of Sleipnir.”

Post to Twitter

Surgeon Premieres Pre-Release Full-Album Stream Of Upcoming New Album “Beast Of Light”

Philadelphia-based blackened metal outfit Surgeon premieres the pre-release full-album stream of the band’s upcoming new album “Beast Of Light”, which will be out in stores August 30 via Anthropic Records.

Check out now “Beast Of Light” in its entirety below.

Post to Twitter

Départe Premieres New Song “Vessel” From Upcoming New Album “Failure, Subside”

Australian progressive blackened metal outfit Départe premieres a new song entitled “Vessel”, taken from the band’s upcoming new album “Failure, Subside”, which will be out in stores October 14 via Season of Mist.

Check out now “Vessel” below.

Comments frontman Sam Dishington:

“Our new track ‘Vessel’ is a reaction to deeply entrenched feelings of isolation and futility. It deals with the despair of being stranded in that place, that void, and even still finding peace, stillness, and victory, drawing you out into the light. From a musical standpoint, ‘Vessel’ is quite broad, touching on many of the elements you can expect to hear throughout the rest of the album. Dark, crushing and dissonant, yet in the same breath powerful and emotive.”

Post to Twitter

Surgeon Premieres New Song “Burn” From Upcoming New Album “Beast of Light”

Philadelphia-based blackened metal outfit Surgeon premieres a new song titled “Burn”, taken from the upcoming new album “Beast of Light”, which will be out in stores August 30 via Anthropic Records. “Beast of Light” features artwork by Fred Grabosky (FTG Illustrations) and was recorded by the band, and mixed and mastered by Kevin Antreassian (Dillinger Escape Plan) at Backroom Studios.

Check out now “Forest of Ghosts” below.

Catch the band live on the following dates below:

7/24-Philadelphia, PA
8/30-Brooklyn, NY w/ Master
8/31-Richmond, VA w/ Master
9/1-Atlanta, GA w/ Master
9/2-Tampa, FL w/ Master
9/3-New Orleans, LA w/ Master
9/4-Dallas, TX w/ Master
9/5-San Antonio, TX w/ Master
9/6-El Paso, TX w/ Master
9/7-Albuquerque, NM w/ Master
9/8-Tuscon, AZ w/ Master
9/9-Mesa, AZ w/ Master
9/10-Santa Ana, CA w/ Master
9/16-Shadow Woods Metal Fest, Whitehall, MD

Post to Twitter

The Lion’s Daughter Posts Live Drum Video

Modern blackened metal band The Lion’s Daughter just kicked off a string of dates with InAeona. The trek sees the bands traveling throughout Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, and Tennessee. A full list of confirmed tour dates can be found below.

The Lion’s Duaghter is touring in support of “Existence is Horror” and also just released a new drum playthrough video shot during the tour’s first night in St. Louis.

July 8 Chicago, IL @ Underground Lounge
July 9 Rock Island, IL @ TBA
July 10 Indianapolis, IN @ 5th Quarter
July 11 Chattanooga, TN @ JJ’s Bohemia

Post to Twitter

Wayfarer Announces “Old Souls” Album Release

Denver, CO’s atmospheric blackened metal band Wayfarer will release sophomore album ”Old Souls” on June 17 via Prosthetic Records. The album’s cover artwork, which can be seen below, was created by Colorado artist and knifesmith Adam Gersh.

Recorded at Flatline Audio with Shane Howard (Martriden, Khemmis) while being mixed and mastered by Dave Otero (Cattle Decapitation, Cobalt), “Old Souls” features seven tracks clocking in at almost 50 minutes long.

Asked how “Old Souls” differs from debut “Children Of An Iron Age,” guitarist and vocalist Shane McCarthy commented: “This record is a darker and much more focused effort from us. Writing the album was a very cohesive and involved process as a whole band this time around. It has moved further and further away from any particular genre trappings and stepped closer into what we feel our sound is; which is always shifting, always evolving. Life is too short to write music that already exists. We can’t wait to get this out there.”

1. Ever Climbing
2. Frontiers
3. Old Souls’ New Dawn
4. Catcher
5. Deathless Tundra
6. The Dust Lakes
7. All Lost in Aimless Chaos

Post to Twitter

The Lion’s Daughter Posts Full New Album “Existence Is Horror”

Modern blackened metal band The Lion’s Daughter is streaming forthcoming album “Existence is Horror” online in full – listen in below.

“Existence is Horror” will be released by Season of Mist on January 8th worldwide and an album release show is set for January 9th in St. Louis. at the Firebird. The show will see support from Black Fast, Fister, and Hell Night. The new album’s track listing is:

1. Phobetor
2. Mass Green Extinctus
3. Nothing Lies Ahead
4. Dog Shaped Man
5. Four Flies
6. Midnight Glass
7. The Fiction In The Dark
8. A Cursed Black End
9. They’re Already Inside
10. The Horror Of Existence

Post to Twitter

Faethom Releases “Thou Shall Follow” Music Video

The Floridian blackened metal band Faethom just launched a new music video, directed and edited by Dan Jackson, for the song “Thou Shall Follow.”

The clip is released today in honor of the anniversary of debut concept album “In the Name of the Father, the Son, and the Unholy,” released back in November of 2011. The band re-recorded the track in 2014 with its current lineup of:

Mariela Muerte (vocals, keyboards)
David Diacrono (guitars)
Hermes Reyes (drums)
Ken Hayward (bass)

Check out the video clip below, and be on the lookout for new material as the band works on an upcoming album.

Post to Twitter