Portrait Recruits New Bass Player Fredrik Petersson

Swedish group Portrait, which released latest full-length album “Crossroads” back in 2014, just checked in with this update about recruiting a new member:

“We are glad to announce that we have finally found a new bassist. His name is Fredrik Petersson and is also in Nidhöggr, and formerly in The Ancients Rebirth. He will do his first Portrait show on April 29th, at the Stockholm Slaughter festival. Welcome to Hell, Fredrik.”

Post to Twitter

Atanor Releasing Self-Titled EP

Iron Bonehead Productions has set October 14th as the international release date for Atanor’s self-titled debut EP. The label comments:

“A very new entity, Atanor surprisingly exhibit the finesse and elan of veterans on Atanor. Its four stout, surging tracks bustle and burrow with an indefinable intensity, sweeping the expanse of black metal history whilst betraying no clear-cut influences.

“There is just as much muscle as there is mysticism in Atanor’s soundworld, and each of those four tracks are aptly titled to convey the magnitude of their vision: chronologically ‘Storms of Black Fire,’ ‘Fires of Death,’ ‘Mystical Rays of Darkness,’ and ‘Revelations.’ Moving from one to the next, a certain totality emerges across Atanor that instills visions much like its striking cover art – etheric yet dense, sanguine but from an unknown source, palpable but painfully out of reach.

“Altogether, it’s a bewitching spell, and one that enraptures further with each successive spin. Atanor are the ancients’ rebirth, and the cauldron has only just begun to stir…”

1. Storm of Black Fire
2. Fires of Death
3. Mystical Rays of Darkness
4. Revelations


Post to Twitter

Hyperion Streaming Full “Seraphical Euphony” Album

Hyperion’s “Seraphical Euphony” offers a solid foundation of epic, high-speed, melodic black / death metal. “Seraphical Euphony” is out in North America now via Black Lion Productions and can be heard below. The full track listing is as follows:

1. Remnants of the Fallen
2. Novus Ordo Seclorum
3. Flagellum Dei
4. Seraphical Euphony
5. Moral Evasion
6. Primal Cosmic Ascendancy
7. Zephyr of Grace
8. Empyrean Yearning
9. Blood of the Ancients

Seraphical Euphony by Hyperion

Post to Twitter

Vorgrum Streaming Full “Last Domain” Album

Vorgrum – a pagan folk metal band from Argentina – released the “Last Domain” album earlier this year, which is now online for streaming in full. Check it out below. The track listing is as follows:

1. Unleashing 03:34
2. Legacy of the Ancients 03:58
3. Drunkard Anthem 02:34
4. Last Will 04:17
5. Troll Villa 04:05
6. Desert Knight 03:05
7. Legions from Niflheim 02:07
8. Scaring us to Death 04:27
9. Potato Troll 02:32
10. Ancient Rulers 04:21
11. Clockwork of Decadence 04:16
12. Schwarzwald 01:52


Post to Twitter

Ancients Reforms, Working On Upcoming EP

After a lengthy hiatus, Nashville-based outfit Ancients has returned and is gearing up for new music. The band comments:

“OK new update – after a 4 year hiatus, Ancients is back! We will continue with the same name and with most of the same original members. We are currently writing all new material and have scheduled to have a new EP recorded thanks to Cody Stewart at Reforce Media.

“Stoked to work with Cody, this man has been doing some of the most beast sounding albums. With that being said, 2016 is going to be rad! More updates soon! Thanks for the overwelming welcome back!”

While waiting for new music to make its way to your ears, check out a lyric clip off previous album “The Lyra Particle” below.

Post to Twitter

Apparatus Releasing Debut Self-Titled Album Through Lavadome Productions

Lavadome Productions has one again unearthed a rare gem in the form of a full-length monument of twisted and grotesque death metal art.

Channeling the power of the ancients and spreading its nefarious message with wanton disregard for listener safety, the self-titled debut album from Denmark’s Apparatus will be released October 20, 2015 as a six panel digisleeve CD (pre-orders up here). The digital version is already available at Bandcamp and can be streamed below.

Apparatus’ self-titled album is a staggering piece of grotesque art on which the band employs primordial weaponry in the invasion of multiple musical territories; the result an original, dense, and thoroughly devastating journey into audio horror. The track listing is:

1. Sermon I 02:58
2. The Unreverberate Blackness of the Abyss 04:25
3. Spheres 03:25
4. R’lyeh 04:20
5. Sermon II 01:39
6. Dissecting Temporal Dimensions to Afflict the Abyssi of Chronos 05:58
7. Miskatonic 05:16
8. King God 04:57
9. Sermon III 02:13
10. Prayer 05:14
11. Arkham 06:52

Apparatus by APPARATUS

Post to Twitter

Yesterday’s Saints Streaming New Track “Recursion”

After streaming “Origen Adamantius” online, Yesterday’s Saints has a new track up for listening titled “Recursion.” Check it out below, courtesy of Dcist.com.

Both songs hail from new album “Generation of Vipers,” which will drop on February 3rd, 2015 (read our review here). The track listing is:

1. Fall of the Ancients
2. Origen Adamantius
3. The Recruitment
4. A Priori
5. Sangreale
6. Cain’s Agony
7. Sands of Nod
8. Generation of Vipers
9. The Divine Tragedy
10. Recursion
11. Luctus en Mane

Post to Twitter

Super Massive Black Holes Streaming Entire Album

Canadian Experimental metalists Super Massive Black Holes, Minotauro Records and All About The Rock have joined forced to present the exclusive full album stream of the band’s forthcoming release, “Calculations of the Ancients.”

Available worldwide on April 29th, you can hear this interesting record in its entirety at this location.

Post to Twitter

Grey Skies Fallen Streaming “The Many Sides Of Truth”

NYC-based ominous metal quintet Grey Skies Fallen is just days from the April 29th street date of monstrous sixth release, “The Many Sides Of Truth,” and today the entire album has been made available for streaming.

Hear “The Many Sides Of Truth” over at GunShyAssassin.com here. The album’s track listing is:

1. Ritual of the Exiter
2. Unroot Transparent Being
3. The Flame (streaming below)
4. Of the Ancients
5. Isolation Point
6. End of My Rope
7. Winter Hand

The local release show for “The Many Sides Of Truth” is scheduled for Monday, May 12th at The Acheron in Brooklyn, with direct support for Grey Skies Fallen coming from the henchmen in Buckshot Facelift, the brutalizing grind/death faction in which three of the members of GSF share double-duty. Additional opening support bombardments will be supplied by local acts Hypoxia, Lysura and Lucid Terror.

Post to Twitter

Super Massive Black Holes Posts Song From Upcoming Release

Canadian experimental Metalists Super Massive Black Holes will release “Calculations of the Ancients” on April 29th via Minotauro records. Stream album track “(Sub-molecular) Transmogrification of the Oriphy” from the upcoming nine-song endeavor below in the player. Guitarist Denver Bergreen (ex-Chaos Logic) had this to say about the upcoming album:

“It was a total DIY effort. Everything was produced by myself, from artwork and layout, to engineering/mixing/mastering. The lyrics are based around science theories (be they real, fictitious, or conspiracy), and often wrap around metaphorically to human experiences (beliefs, insecurities, questions about the world around us.) The music is meant to zig-zag across genres, while still holding root within the composition as a whole. To express every possible emotion in the best way we could think of.”

Calculations of the Ancients by Super Massive Black Holes

Post to Twitter