Suidakra To Release Acoustic Album, “Cimbric Yarns”

German folk metal veterans Suidakra has announced that they will be releasing an acoustic album entitled, “Cimbric Yarns.” The album will be released on November 16th through AFM Records and you can check out a video teaser for the record below. The band has also revealed the cover artwork for the album, which can also be seen below. Despite the acoustic release, Suidakra are also working on a new album in their usual style, which is expected to be released next year.

Post to Twitter

Klone Streaming Acoustic Song “Gone Up In Flames”

Klone is gearing up to release an acoustic album simply titled “Unplugged” on February 17th, 2017. Today acoustic track “Gone Up In Flames” taken from that release has come online. The album was mixed by Chris Edrich and mastered by Pierrick Noel, with pre-orders online here. The full track listing is as follows:

01. Immersion
02. Grim Dance
03. People Are People (Depeche Mode cover)
04. The Silent Field Of Slaves
05. Nebulous
06. Gone Up In Flames
07. Into The Void
08. Fog
09. Come Undone
10. Rocket Smoke
11. Summertime

Post to Twitter

Pain Of Salvation Streams Acoustic Track “Lineoleum”

Swedish progressive rock innovators Pain of Salvation recently announced an acoustic album, “Falling Home,” to be released in Europe on November 10th, 2014 and on January 13th, 2015 in North America via the band’s longtime label partner InsideOutMusic.

A first track off “Falling Home” is now being launched online. Check out the acoustic version of “Linoleum” below, thanks to Prog Magazine.

Pain of Salvation’s Daniel Gildenlöw has checked in about the release as follows: “Damn, it will be so nice finally to have this album see the light of day in a context larger than my head, our rehearsing room and a multitude of work computers and hard drives in selected homes. It has been a long time, and the road to release has been very complicated and unexpected, including finding myself in hospital for four entire months after a close call with flesh eating bacteria. Who would have guessed as we set out to record a quick little acoustic something all those many months ago in what seems like another lifetime by now?

“On the other hand, it has turned this album into so much more than we ever expected it to be. I find the term ‘acoustic album’ very misleading. This album is as bold a statement as any of our albums, and will in the same way offer laughter, tears, surprises and challenges. If it’s not original, if it’s not uncompromisingly passionate, then it’s not Pain of Salvation.”

Gildenlöw commented about the track “Linoleum” in particular as follows: “I love the versatility of this animal, and I keep dragging it into different contexts to see how it will adapt and respond. In other words, this track was a given when we started discussing an acoustic project, and probably the first one I sat down with to rearrange. I have always loved to play around with the emotional spectrum of suppressed rage in music and lyrics, and making this song acoustic called for even higher levels of challenge when it came to finding that perfect balance of dialed down subtlety and sudden bursts of emotional display. I love how it came out in the end. An agile predator. Let’s invent a word today: Pantheresque.”

“Falling Home” is a very special album, which contains reimagined versions of favorite catalog songs, two cover versions (“Holy Diver” by Dio and “Perfect Day” by Lou Reed) and a brand new song (The title track, “Falling Home”). The track listing is:

1. Stress
2. Linoleum
3. To The Shoreline
4. Holy Diver
5. 1979
6. Chain Sling
7. Perfect Day
8. Mrs. Modern Mother Mary
9. Flame To The Moth
10. Spitfall
11. Falling Home

Post to Twitter