Details On New Album “In A Mirror Darkly” Revealed By Mekong Delta

German progressive thrash act Mekong Delta unveiled the album artwork and track list for the new album “In A Mirror Darkly.” The album drops in Scandinavia on April 23rd, in Germany on April 25th, in Europe on April 28th and in the USA on April 29th through SPV/Steamhammer. The album will be made available as a CD, double gatefold LP with colored vinyl plus CD in cardboard sleeve and download.

According to the press release: “It’s the hoped-for complex and ambitious album, and of course we wouldn’t have accepted anything less from Mekong Delta. Like few other contemporary groups, the German progressive thrash metal band surrounding mastermind and bassist Ralf Hubert continues to stand for innovation and independence in 2014. All those looking for pure mainstream or mediocre muzak have to look elsewhere – Mekong Delta score again with their intelligence, unwillingness to compromise and courage.”

The album picks up thematically where its 2010 predecessor “Wanderer On The Edge Of Time” left off. “For me, music doesn’t start with A and end with Z, it’s an ongoing process,” Ralf Hubert explains. “In this respect, you could call In A Mirror Darkly the continuation of the Wanderer theme, but it’s no copy, it’s an independent recording. Each Mekong album sounds unique and forward-looking in the original sense of the term. As a composer, I consciously allow myself to drift to be able to consistently explore new horizons.”

Martin LeMar (vocals), Ralf Hubert (bass, classical guitar), Erik Adam H. Grösch (guitar) and Alex Landenburg (drums) have recorded a total of eight songs for In A Mirror Darkly, among them three instrumental numbers like the classical guitar intro or the ingenious ‘Inside The Outside Of The Inside’ with its diverse arrangements. “Typically Mekong Delta, the new numbers all have a playing time of between five and seven minutes. As far as I am concerned, that’s just the right time frame to gain sufficient stylistic depth without pushing the envelope or creating artistic ambiguities,” band founder Ralf Hubert explains the initial parameters of the new album. “I feel that we’ve once again found the right mix of complexity and uninterrupted leitmotiv.”

The track list for the album is:

1. Introduction
2. Ouverture
3. The Armageddon Machine
4. The Sliver in Gods Eye
5. Janus
6. Inside the Outside of the Inside
7. Hindsight Bias
8. Mutant Messiah

Post to Twitter

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.